Superhawk vs Suzuki SV for tall riders? - SV1000 Portal
 2Likes
  • 1 Post By Masta' C
  • 1 Post By dwfree

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 4th January 2020, 09:48 AM Thread Starter
L-Plate Rider

Superhawk vs Suzuki SV for tall riders?

Greetings ladies & gentlemen. I am new to this forum, but I'm looking for opinions/experience about the Firehawk (or Superhawk as they say overseas).

I am a rather tall person 1m92cm (or 6ft3) and I ride a Suzuki SV650S 2004. It's a great bike, easy to maintain, rides smoothly, ... Also: keep in mind that I am a novice rider, and far from a pro/competitive rider.
The only downside is that it feels like this motorcycle is too small for me. It sometimes feels kinda uncomfortable to manouver with it. What I am wondering is: how does the VTR1000F compares to that? I am not talking about power, because the superhawk will rape the 650s with regards of power, and I will probably never even use it's powerband to its full capacity, but what about riding position and handling for taller riders?

Kind regards
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 5th January 2020, 06:23 AM
Hardcore Biker

♂ New Zealand
Auckland,New Zealand
Garage
I am a former SV1000S owner and a friend of mine owned a VTR1000.
I have tried them both.
The SV is a lot better(suspension,frame,less vibration in the handlebars...)too many to mention.
The SV feels more powerful too,quicker throttle response.
The SV is fuel injected,the VTR i tried was the last carbureted version(1999 edition)
Also you can source a footpeg lowering kit,or adjustable rear sets to get your riding position to your liking.
Try searching the forum for these.
There is the handlebar conversion too.
I found some threads on the forum about these too.
I am no expert in these bikes,others,more experienced probably will reply with some info.
Hope this helps