SV Portal Forums banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
121 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this thread on svrider as well. I'm curious about this issue as it seems to be somewhat common...:confused:

Guys I need some opinions/help here. I've got an 03 sv1000s and I'm still learning about the bike (new rider in general). Only had it about a month and I've put maybe 150 miles on it since I've had it (been too cold obviously).....BUT the dang thing is super jerky in 1st gear to the point that it is causing chain backlash/jerk (I guess that is what it is called.)

It is smooth as can be in every gear BUT 1st when driving. If I start in first going super slow (almost to the point of it not staying up on it's own) and don't get the rpms to where they would be for when you shift into 2nd then it is fine....BUT once they get up to shifting RPM's the dang thing starts jerking like crazy to the point it jerks on the main sprocket. Almost like if you was trying to throttle up in a gear too high for your speed/rpms....BUT WORSE...LOL.

Also when I'm first shifting down into 1st or up into 2nd from NEUTRAL when STOPPED it shifts hard. When I shift down into 1st the bike will lunge just a bit (logic says worn or clutch needing adjustment), BUT not when I shift into second. Also if I shift down into 1st FIRST then straight up into 2nd it shifts smoothly into 2nd. From the neutral position when stopped is where it shifts hard from. Harder down into 1st than up to 2nd....Also when I shift up into 2nd from Neutral SLOWLY I can feel it bouncing off my foot very fast like it is trying to shift into 2nd but can't. I have to give it a quick but firm shift to get it into second when doing it this way. I obviously don't shift slow, but I tried this to feel it shifting and this is when I noticed it. Doesn't seem right to me.