SV Portal Forums banner
1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have not ridden my sv much at all this year. I bought a k and N air filter and removed the snorkel out of the air box, replaced the battery and I was ready for a ride. I have spent most of my summer on a new ride a yamaha road star warrior and have enjoyed the cruiser, but -- When I rode the torque monster again I was thrilled. The filter and snorkel change is better, I have read that there are different opinions but mine is....it is definetly better....More air = more power. The front wheel came up more often and higher too. I was amazed to look down and see my speedo at 90 and still be in gear 2.
Now I need to wash/ clean up all the dust and enjoy this sports machine.
For any one contemplating the filter/ snorkel removal...I will advise it...Mine is a Naked model 2003....I have no knowledge of the newer years.
Thanks for a great Forum and support group for the sv thousand.
Brett

·
Banned
847 Posts
I agree, but it's the snorkel removal that does it. I removed mine and immediately noticed more power. Later I changed the stock air filter for a BMC and noticed nothing

·
BANNED!!!!
3,473 Posts
More likely it just feels more powerful. Quite likely by taking the snorkel out you've hindered the cylinder filling, by robbing it of the benefits of laminar flow that the snorkel provides, and thus the flat spot you've added just makes it feel more powerful when the bike climbs out of it.... It's actually less power, but a different (read worse) delivery :whistle:

You're slipping Buzzard, didn't you notice he has an 03? Aren't you worried that his bike will knock itself to death? :rolleyes:

·
I love my SV
5,783 Posts