SV Portal Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I have a 2003 sv1000 which I intend to use for the track I’ve fitted gsxr k2 front forks and yolks,k2 rear ohlins shock and marchesini wheels I’m no sure if the geometry is now out has any body done this before? What set up do I need? Will it need new spring/valves?

·
Disturbed, very...
2003 SV1000S
1,321 Posts
Have a look at the reference i have attached..... that will tell you what the measurements are for the forks against original.....the rear shock eye-to-eye is possibly different too.....cant remember
the stock length, but, i run an 04 GSXR 1000 shock, which is 3mm longer, and that lifted the bike 10mm directly above the axle.
As long as you are within a few mm, it is then up to setting spring sag, for the bike, and then with you on it.....if the correct figures cant be reached, then you probably need to alter the springs.

I am not an expert on sag, but a search of the site will find some tips there.

Attachments

·
KNEE DRAGGER
5,122 Posts
Have a look at the reference i have attached..... that will tell you what the measurements are for the forks against original.....the rear shock eye-to-eye is possibly different too.....cant remember
the stock length, but, i run an 04 GSXR 1000 shock, which is 3mm longer, and that lifted the bike 10mm directly above the axle.
As long as you are within a few mm, it is then up to setting spring sag, for the bike, and then with you on it.....if the correct figures cant be reached, then you probably need to alter the springs.

I am not an expert on sag, but a search of the site will find some tips there.
Can you please further describe the the fork oil chart you have in this document. I can not make much sense of it. I notice the numbers in the further right columns add up to 100. Is this a mix ratio or something?
Thanks
-ms

·
Disturbed, very...
2003 SV1000S
1,321 Posts